Search

 

APPLICATION  PROCESS FOR NOTARIES

As outlined by the Ohio Secretary of State.  [referenced here as SOS]

This information applies to persons who are not attorneys.

1.  Go to www.ohiosos.gov and click on “Notary” to review the process and find the necessary links.  To read the state law, go to www.codes.ohio.gov/orc/147

2.  Obtain a Criminal Records Check -- WebCheck® Locations will be listed on the SOS website.  If no disqualifying offenses appear, proceed to the next step.  Disqualifying offenses will be listed on the website.  The records check must be obtained within six months prior to filing. 

      There is a fee to obtain a Criminal Records Check.  The amount of the fee varies, according to the specific WebCheck® Location which is chosen.

 

NEW  COMMISSION

 

RENEWAL OF COMMISSION

After completing the first two steps, contact an Authorized Education and Testing Provider to complete a three hour education program and pass a test.  Receive a certificate of completion from the provider.  The fee is $130.00 paid to the authorized provider.

 

After completing the first two steps, contact an Authorized Education and Testing Provider to complete a one hour education program.

Receive a certificate of completion from the provider.  The fee is $45.00 paid to the authorized provider.

Sign your name on and scan this document, to be saved as a PDF, which will allow the SOS to verify your official signature on notarized documents.

 

Go to the SOS website to file online.  The system will require you to create an account, provide your Ohio address and all contact information, and then you upload the criminal records check and education certificate.

Go to the SOS website to file online.  The system will require you to create an account, provide your Ohio address and all contact information, and then you upload the criminal records check and education certificate.

 

When to renew.  Notaries may apply to renew the commission beginning three months prior to the expiration date of the commission.  If the commission expires before the application is submitted, the SOS shall not renew that expired commission, but shall permit the person to apply for a new notary commission.

Fee is $15.00 paid by credit/debit card to the Ohio Secretary of State.

 

Fee is $15.00 paid by credit/debit card to the Ohio Secretary of State.

 This information has been provided by the office of the Ohio Secretary of State, and is subject to

changes and modifications by that office.                                                                 9 – 20 – 2019

www.ohiosos.gov

 

                  click on NOTARY to review the process and find the necessary links

The mandatory criminal records check for obtaining a Notary Public Commission can be requested

at any one of over 700 WebCheck® locations in Ohio.

                        To find a location, search  ohioattorneygeneral.gov     

                                                look for WEBCHECK LOCATIONS  under the category of SERVICES

================================================

INFORMATION FOR CRIMINAL RECORDS CHECK

FOR NOTARY COMMISSION

TO GO THROUGH THE MORROW COUNTY SHERIFF’S OFFICE

Report in person to the Morrow County Sheriff Office,

101 Home Road, Mount Gilead

n  In the Morrow County Correctional Facility,

located on U.S. Highway 42, NE of Mount Gilead

Sheriff’s Office contact phone number:  (419)-946-6991

Only available on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, from 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

No appointment necessary. 

Fee is $25.00 for the BCI criminal records check.

Payable by personal check, money order, or cash -- exact change only.

IMPORTANT:  Bring the following (2) items:

Driver’s license or State I.D. card, plus the

REQUEST FOR A RECORDS CHECK form (found on the next page)

Ø  The REQUEST FOR A RECORDS CHECK form specifies that the Ohio Attorney General’s Office

will send the results of the Criminal Records Check to the applicant at their address.

After they are received, the results have to be uploaded by the applicant to the Ohio Secretary

of State’s website as part of the notary application process. 

Ø  The records check must be obtained within six (6) months prior to filing the Application for Notary

with the Ohio Secretary of State’s office (either for a new commission, or the renewal of an existing commission). 

Ø  Notaries can apply to renew their commission beginning 3 months prior to the expiration date.

If the notary public's commission expires before the notary submits the application for renewal,

the Secretary of State shall not renew that expired commission but shall permit the person to

            apply for a new notary commission.

Webcheck #

 

 

Log #

 

 

 

 

REQUEST FOR A RECORDS CHECK VIA ELECTRONIC FINGERPRINTING

 BCI

 FBI

 BCI & FBI

PERSONAL INFORMATION: (PLEASE PRINT)

 

NAME:

 

DOB:

 

SSN:

 

 

ADDRESS:

 

PHONE:

 

CITY:

 

STATE:

 

ZIP:

 

SEX:

 

RACE:

 

HEIGHT:

 

WEIGHT:

 

HAIR:

 

EYES:

 

THE RESULTS ARE TO BE MAILED TO THE APPLICANT

REASON FOR RECORDS CHECK:

 

 

BCI CODE:

OTHER

NO ORC

NOTARY PUBLIC

 

FBI CODE:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DIRECT COPY OPTIONS: (CIRCLE ONLY ONE)

 

OHIO DEPT OF EDUCATION

OHIO BOARD OF NURSING

OHIO MEDICAL BOARD

OHIO DEPT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

OHIO DEPT OF LIQUOR CONTROL

ORTHOTICS, PROSTHETICS, PEDORTHICS BOARD

BMV DEALER

BMV DEPUTY REGISTRAR

OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY, PHYSICAL THERAPY

OHIO STATE RACING COMMISSION

OHIO DEPT OF INSURANCE

AND ATHLETIC TRAINERS BOARD

DIETETICS BOARD

OPOTA

OHIO BOARD OF PHARMACY

SOCIAL WORKER BOARD

RESPIRATORY CARE BOARD

OHIO CONSTRUCTION BOARD

CHILD CARE CENTER-TYPE A ODJFS

LOTTERY COMMISSION

 

 

I CERTIFY THAT THE PERSONAL IDENTIFIERS PROVIDED ON THIS FORM ARE ACCURATE AND I VOLUNTARILY AND KNOWINGLY AUTHORIZE THE OHIO BUREAU OF CRIMINAL IDENTIFICATION AND INVESTIGATION TO CONDUCT A CRIMINAL RECORDS CHECK FOR THE INFORMATION RELATING TO ME.  I AM VOLUNTARILY AND KNOWINGLY AUTHORIZE BCI&I TO DISSEMINATE CRIMINAL ARREST, CONVICTION AND JUVENILE DELINQUENCY ADJUDICATION RECORDS TO THOSE REQUESTED.  I VOLUNTARILY AND KNOWINGLY RELEASE AND DISCHARGE THE OHIO ATTORNEY GENERAL’S OFFICE, BCI&I AND THEIR EMPLOYEES FROM ALL CLAIM AND LIABILITY RELATED TO THIS AUTHORIZED CRIMINAL RECORD REVIEW AND DISSEMINATION.

 

 

 

APPLICANT’S NAME – PRINTED

 

PARENT/GUARDIAN NAME

 

 

 

APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE                                 DATE

 

PARENT/GUARDIAN SIGNATURE (MINORS ONLY)

BY SIGNING THIS FORM, THE APPLICANT ACKNOWLEDGES THAT ALL INFORMATION ON THIS FORM IS ACCURATE.

ANY MISTAKES OR ERRORS ON THIS FORM ARE THE RESPONSIBILITY OF THE APPLICANT.

Employee Login Only!

Website designed by John M Stinehelfer