(Parents Education About Children’s Emotions)
All individuals filing divorces or dissolutions, involving children, are required by Local Rule of Court to attend the PEACE Program (or similar program in another county) prior to the date of the final hearing. The divorce or dissolution may not be granted if one or both parties has not attended the program.
- How families experience divorce
- Typical reactions of children
- Developmental needs of children
- Skills for parents to help children with divorce
- Do’s and Don’ts of divorce
- Community resources
Pre-Registration: Each person attending must pay a $28.00 fee. There is a maximum of 35 per class. You may pay by check, money order or credit card. Credit card payments cannot be processed over the phone. Pre-registration is required and fees cannot be paid at time of attendance. You may register at Family Court, Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., or you may mail your payment to the following address:
Family Court Make your check or money order
222 West Center Street payable to: Marion Co. Family Court - Clerk of Courts
Marion, Ohio 43302
Please enclose a separate sheet of paper with your name, date of the class you would like to attend, and a phone number so that we can call and confirm registration with you. Classes are held at Family Court with entrance in the back of the building. Admittance to the building begins one half hour prior to the scheduled start time. Children are not permitted to attend this program. Please arrive on time. Entrance will not be permitted to late arrivals. All classes are subject to cancellation.
You will receive a certificate of attendance after your class. The original copy will be mailed to the clerk of courts in your county. P.E.A.C.E. dates:
Tuesday, May 16, 2017 5:45 p.m. until 8:00 p.m.
Tuesday, June 13, 2017 5:45 p.m. until 8:00 p.m.
Saturday, July 15, 2017 8:45 a.m. until 11:00 a.m.
Questions? Please call for any additional information (740) 223-4060 about the PEACE Program. If you have questions about whether a similar program will qualify, please contact Dan Rhodebeck at 419-947-4515 Ext 2230.
Ohio law requires that all divorcing parents with minor children attend a course to provide information about the effects that a parental divorce may have on children. In Marion County, that course is called P.E.A.C.E (Parents Education About Children’s Emotions). That course is offered twice a month at times that the majority of attendees have stated were convenient. The Court understands that due to work schedules, relocations, time constraints, as well as various other issues, some parents may not be able to attend a live course. Therefore, the Court will accept certificates of completion from the any of the listed online courses as satisfaction of the legal requirement.
www.puttingkidsfirst.org (Online Divorce class) $60.00
www.familyaffairs.org (IODC class) $38.00
www.parentclassonline.com (Parent Educ. and Family Stabilization Course) $29.99*
* additional cost for email or fax certificate.
It is the responsibility of the party to file their certificate with the Morrow County Common Pleas Court Clerk’s Office